The Board of Selectmen formed the Wilton Security Task Force in March 2013 to assess and make recommendations on enhancing “the safety and security of all Wilton’s school children.” The task force is directed to recommend measures to keep school children, staff and town employees safe. Members are Harold Clark, chair; Michael Lombardo, police chief; John Suchy, Roseann DeSimone. Terrie Schwartz, John Logan, and Ken Post, John Murphy and Jory Higgins, of the Wilton Public Schools.

The task force was created out of concerns following the tragic events at Sandy Hook Elementary School in December 2013.